Anti Virus Recommendations (Windows PC’s)

Did you know that there are an average of 65 new computer viruses released everyday. They wreak havoc on your computer and can bring a person or business to their knees if not taken care of quickly. Many times when someone brings me their machine for virus removal they either did not have any virus protection, the virus protection was out of date, or their “free” software didn’t do what it was supposed to do.

Well today I’m going to give you my recommendations for the best protection for you and your data.

  1. My #1 recommended paid product is Webroot Secure Anywhere Antivirus 2012. In my opinion it does the best job of protecting you and in the event of a breach it does the best at removing them. It is $39.95 a year for 1 computer or $49.95 a year for up to 3 computers.
  2. My # 2 recommendation is for those that do no want to pay for their antivirus and are looking for a “free” solution. In this type of scenario I recommend Panda Securities  Panda Cloud Antivirus 2012. This is does a very good job of protecting you and because it is in the cloud, it is always updated, so it requires no maintenance on your part.
  3. My #3 recommendation is for those who want a “free” product but prefer a more traditional antivirus that does not live in the cloud and is installed on you local machine. For these computers I recommend Avast Free Antivirus. This is an excellent program that protects you from downloads, emails, as well as while you are browsing the web, among others.
I do not get anything from the companies for these recommendations. 
So if your in the market for Anti-Virus, give one of these 3 products a try.
Thanks,
Jim
  1. #1 by Wilson Edgar on October 24, 2011 - 12:43 pm

    Thanks for the suggestion Jim.

Leave a comment